The City of Pittsfield has two full-time parking enforcement officers that vigorously enforce the City's Parking Ordinances and issue tickets per Sec. 13 – 8.1 Schedule of Fines.
Any and all individuals that park their motor vehicle in an on-street parking space will need to move their vehicle a minimum of one entire block away (which includes all adjacent streets in connection with the current block) from their last parked location after the time limitation has expired or they will be deemed in violation of the City's Parking Ordinances.
Any and all individuals that park their motor vehicle in a municipal parking lot will need to move their vehicle to a different municipal parking lot or to an on-street parking space after the time limitation has expired or they will be deemed in violation of the City's Parking Ordinances.
The parking plan does not change, relocate or affect any handicapped parking spaces in the city. Those with handicap placards are exempt, per Massachusetts state law, from payment. However, failure to display the handicap placard may result in ticketing.
Parking tickets can be paid at the Tax Collector's Office or mailed. Please do not mail cash. Per Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90, Section 20A, all tickets must be paid within 21 days. A $5.00 late fee is added on the 22nd day. If your ticket remains unpaid, your license and/or registration may be marked for nonrenewable with the Registry of Motor Vehicles and an additional $5.00 fee for costs and $20.00 for the Registry of Motor Vehicles will be added to each unpaid ticket.
If you believe you have been unfairly issued a parking ticket, you may appeal the ticket in writing by completing a Parking Ticket Appeal Form. This appeal must be received within the original 21 days of the issuance of this ticket. If you do not wish to download the form, you may send a letter with your name, address, registration number, parking ticket number and the violation number to the Parking Hearing Officer.
If your ticket appeal warrants a hearing, you will receive notice of the date, time and place for your Hearing. You must appear for your hearing. We do not reschedule hearings. The Hearing Officer's decision is final.
Remember do not ignore a Parking Ticket. Tickets must be paid with the 21 days to avoid the late fees.
You can pay your parking ticket online at our Online Payment Center. There is a small fee to pay directly from your checking account. Please note that a convenience fee will be charged for credit card payments.
If your vehicle has been booted, please contact the Tax Collector's Office between the hours of 8:30 AM and 3:30 PM, Monday through Friday (except holidays). A $50.00 boot fee must be paid, cash or money order only, along with all outstanding parking ticket fees/fines and other past due fees/fines, in order to have the boot removed.
If your car is missing, it may have been towed. All vehicle tows are contracted with private towing companies and are logged in a police log. To contact the Police Department Dispatch Desk please call (413) 448-9700 and an officer will assist you.
Five or more unpaid tickets will result in a boot.
Please note: All towing and storage charges, as well as boot fees and all outstanding parking ticket fees/fines and other past due fees/fines, must be paid with cash or money order before the vehicle can be released.”